Elly Henes

For the third consecutive year, the NC State women’s cross country team took home the ACC Championships, holding off Notre Dame to win by just one team point Friday morning at Franklin Park in Boston, Massachusetts.

The Pack women finished with a team score of 67, one better than the Fighting Irish’s 68. Junior Elly Henes led the way for NC State, finishing in second place with a time of 20:16.3 to beat out Anna Rohrer of Notre Dame by less than three seconds to secure the team championship.

The Wolfpack also got a top-10 finish from sophomore Dominique Clairmonte, who placed eighth. Sophomore Nevada Mareno finished 22nd, followed closely by freshman Savannah Shaw who crossed the line in 25th.

Sophomore Isabel Zimmerman wrapped up the Wolfpack women who finished in the top 30, placing 29th. Freshman Heather Holt was the final member of the Pack to contribute to the team score, finishing in 32nd with a time of 21:20.6.

For the Wolfpack men, sophomore Ian Shanklin led the way with a seventh-place finish to help the Pack finish in third as a team. Notre Dame won the men’s title with a score of 57, nearly 20 points better than the Wolfpack’s 85.

Sophomore Edwin Rutto came in 14th for the Wolfpack men, followed by senior Elijah Moskowitz in 17th. Sophomore Gavin Gaynor finished one second, and one place, behind Moskowitz to take 18th.

Sophomore Joe Bistritz came in at 29th, and senior Patrick Sheehan crossed the line in 45th. Senior Philip Hall wrapped up the Pack men that contributed to the team score, finishing the race in 68th place.

With an ACC title for the women and a strong third-place finish for the men, NC State will now shift its focus to the NCAA Southeast Regional meet on Nov. 9 in Rock Hill, South Carolina.